AEOCheck
Comparison

AEOCheck vs. Thryv

Thryv is a small-business management platform that says "AEO" on its pricing page. AEOCheck measures whether AI engines actually recommend you. This page explains the difference between the word and the measurement.

One-time AI visibility report, $25

AEOCheck

  • Runs eight real buyer-intent searches for your trade and city across ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini and Google organic
  • Tells you whether you were named, who was named instead, and where you rank
  • Five prioritised fixes per lens, an on-page audit, and copy-paste starter files
  • No subscription. Done-for-you work is a separate, scoped engagement if you want it
Small-business management platform

Thryv

  • CRM, scheduling, invoicing, marketing and reputation tools in one subscription
  • AI website builder, AI review management and AI lead insights
  • Signature plan includes an "SEO & AEO custom website"
  • Starter $99/mo, Signature $399/mo, Amplify custom

Disclosure: AEOCheck sells a competing product. We write these pages under a published method, we say what the other tool does better than us, and every claim about them is read from their own material and dated.

The honest difference

Thryv is a business-management platform for small companies — CRM, scheduling, invoicing, payments, marketing, reviews — and the website is one piece of a much larger bundle. On its pricing page, read on 4 September 2026, the $399-a-month Signature plan lists an "SEO & AEO custom website" among its features. That is the reason this comparison exists: a business owner who has heard the word AEO and sees it on a plan they are already considering will reasonably assume it covers the thing they are worried about.

Here is what the page says and does not say. It says the website is built with SEO and AEO in mind. It lists an AI website builder, AI review management and AI lead insights. It does not name any AI engine — not ChatGPT, not Perplexity, not Gemini, not Google's AI Overviews — and it does not describe a dashboard, a score, or any report of how those engines answer when a customer asks for a recommendation. A website built for answer engines and a measurement of whether answer engines name you are different things, and only the first appears on the page. We mark the second unknown, not absent: Thryv may do more than its pricing page describes, and you should ask.

AEOCheck is the measurement. You pay once, we run the real buyer searches for your trade and your town across ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini and Google organic, and the report says whether you were named, who was named instead, and the five fixes that matter most — including whether your site, whoever built it, is blocking the crawler that ChatGPT search uses.

That last point is worth dwelling on. A platform-built website is only as visible to AI as its hosting and configuration allow. If the platform, or a security layer in front of it, blocks the retrieval crawlers, the AEO label on the plan does not help. The AEOCheck report fetches your site as those crawlers do and tells you what they get back. That is a check you can run on a Thryv site, or any other, for $25, and it is the check most likely to explain an invisible business.

If you want one subscription that runs the office — scheduling, invoicing, reviews, a website — Thryv is built for that and the website comes with it. If you want to know whether AI recommends you, and what specifically to fix, that is a measurement, and the $25 report is the cheapest honest way to get it.

What each one measures

AEOCheck Thryv
AI answer engines measured ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini — plus Google organic ? No AI engine is named on their pricing page
Local buyer-intent prompts ("best plumber in Tulsa") Eight per report, keyed to your trade and city ? Not described on their pricing page
Names who gets recommended instead of you In every report, per engine ? Not described on their pricing page
AI visibility score or dashboard Standing per lens, with the real numbers ? None described on their pricing page
AI crawler access check (GPTBot, OAI-SearchBot, ClaudeBot, PerplexityBot) Fetched and reported in the on-page audit — works on a Thryv-built site too ? Not stated on their site
Schema / structured data Audited in the report; a FAQPage starter is included; implemented in an engagement ? Not stated on their pricing page
Website built for SEO and AEO We do not build the website in the report; site builds are part of a scoped engagement "SEO & AEO custom website" on the Signature plan
Prioritised fix list Five fixes per lens, ordered by impact ? Not described on their pricing page
CRM, scheduling, invoicing, payments × Not offered — AEOCheck is a visibility report Core product
Review management A reviews quick-win in the report; platform setup in an engagement AI review management
Trend over time × One-time snapshot; re-run when you want a new one ? Not described for AI visibility
Free option Free headline check by email — one finding, no card ? Not stated on the pricing page we read
Pricing $25 one-time per report Starter $99/mo, Signature $399/mo, Amplify custom

Thryv's features and pricing as published on their own site, checked 2026-09-04. Their product changes without telling us — verify anything you are deciding on.

What the numbers say

Across the 212 businesses AEOCheck has scanned so far, 192 — 91% — failed their AI visibility check. Most had the same three problems: AI crawlers blocked, no structured data, and no content for engines to cite. None of those are fixed by automating a Google Business Profile.

That number is read live from our own scan corpus when this page loads, counting the most recent scan per business — not a figure typed in once and left.

Choose Thryv if

Thryv is the better purchase when:

The value of Thryv is the bundle. Judge it on the whole bundle, not on the two letters on the website line.

Choose AEOCheck if

The $25 report is the better purchase when:

The question to ask first

Before choosing either, ask one question: when someone in your city asks ChatGPT or Perplexity who to hire for what you do, does your business get named? A plan that says AEO does not answer that. Running the searches does.

Run the free AEOCheck headline check and find out in minutes. No payment required.

Run my free check →

FAQ

Does Thryv do AEO?

Thryv's pricing page, read on 2026-09-04, lists an "SEO & AEO custom website" on the $399 per month Signature plan, alongside an AI website builder, AI review management and AI lead insights. It does not name any AI engine or describe a report of how AI engines answer about your business. A website built for AEO and a measurement of your AI visibility are different things; the page describes the first. Ask Thryv directly about the second.

How much does Thryv cost?

From their pricing page on 2026-09-04: Starter at $99 per month, Signature at $399 per month, and Amplify on custom pricing. The SEO & AEO website is listed on the Signature plan.

Will a Thryv website show up in ChatGPT?

Only if AI crawlers can read it and there is something on it worth citing. Neither is guaranteed by any platform, and a security layer in front of a site can block retrieval crawlers without anything in the page itself being wrong. The AEOCheck report fetches your site as those crawlers do and tells you what they receive — it works on a Thryv site or any other.

Thryv vs AEOCheck: which should I buy?

They are not substitutes. Thryv is a business-management bundle with a website included; AEOCheck is a $25 measurement of whether AI engines recommend you and what to fix. If you are considering Thryv partly because of the AEO label, run the report first — it tells you whether you have the problem the label implies it solves.

Can I use AEOCheck on a Thryv-built site?

Yes. The report needs only your business name, website, service and city. It checks crawler access, schema and content on whatever site you have, and runs the buyer searches regardless of who built it.

Is the AEOCheck check free?

The headline check is free: we run the same buyer searches and email you the single most important finding, no card. The full report is $25 and delivers to your inbox, usually within the hour.

Where this came from

More comparisons

All comparisons · Tool reviews and roundups · How we review

See what AI says about your business — $25 full report →