AEOCheck
Comparison

AEOCheck vs. Synup

Synup is a listings-and-reputation platform that has added AI answer-engine scoring to every plan. AEOCheck is a one-time measurement of what those engines say when your customers ask who to hire.

One-time AI visibility report, $25

AEOCheck

  • Runs eight real buyer-intent searches for your trade and city across ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini and Google organic
  • Tells you whether you were named, who was named instead, and where you rank
  • Five prioritised fixes per lens, an on-page audit, and copy-paste starter files
  • No subscription. Done-for-you work is a separate, scoped engagement if you want it
Listings, reviews and AEO in one platform

Synup

  • Listings management, review management and local marketing tools, priced per location
  • AEO: scored per engine across ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity — whether your locations get cited, and what to fix
  • Solo $49/mo (1 location), Premium $299/mo (up to 10), Pro $499/mo (up to 25), Scale $899/mo (up to 50), Enterprise custom
  • 20% off on annual billing; free trial on Solo through Scale

Disclosure: AEOCheck sells a competing product. We write these pages under a published method, we say what the other tool does better than us, and every claim about them is read from their own material and dated.

The honest difference

Synup is one of the few local-marketing platforms that has put AI answer-engine measurement into every plan rather than selling it as an add-on. Their pricing page describes it plainly: scored per engine across ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, showing whether your locations get cited and what those engines read when they do not. For a business that is going to pay for listings and review management anyway, getting an AEO score in the same subscription is a real advantage, and the $49 Solo plan puts that within reach of a single location.

The difference is the shape of the purchase, and the shape of the question. Synup is a platform: you set up a location, connect your listings, and the scores update as part of an ongoing subscription. Its AEO scoring answers "how do these engines describe and cite my business" — which is a brand-level question, asked about you.

AEOCheck asks a narrower and, for a local business, more useful question: when someone in your town types the search your customers actually type — "best HVAC company in Fresno", "most reputable dentist near me" — which businesses does the engine name, and are you one of them? That is a buyer-intent question, and its answer includes the competitors who are taking the recommendation you are not. The report also fetches your site as the AI crawlers do and tells you if one is being blocked, which no amount of listings work will fix.

We should be clear about what we could and could not verify. Synup's pricing page names the three engines and the cited-or-not framing; it does not, in the text we could read, describe how many prompts are run, whether they are local buyer-intent prompts or brand prompts, or whether Google's AI Overviews and AI Mode are covered. We mark those unknown rather than guessing. If they matter to you, Synup's trial is the way to find out.

If you want listings, reviews and an AEO score in one place on an ongoing basis, Synup is a sensible platform to trial. If you want to know, once, whether AI is sending your customers to someone else and exactly what to change — including the technical problems a platform does not touch — that is the $25 report.

What each one measures

AEOCheck Synup
AI answer engines measured ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini — plus Google organic ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, scored per engine (their pricing page)
Local buyer-intent prompts ("best plumber in Tulsa") Eight per report, keyed to your trade and city ? Prompt method not described on their pricing page
Names who gets recommended instead of you In every report, per engine ? Not stated on their pricing page
Google AI Overviews / AI Mode Google organic is measured; AI Overviews are not scored separately ? Not named among the engines on their pricing page
AI crawler access check (GPTBot, OAI-SearchBot, ClaudeBot, PerplexityBot) Fetched and reported in the on-page audit ? Not stated on their pricing page
Schema / structured data Audited in the report; a FAQPage starter is included; implemented in an engagement ? Not stated on their pricing page
Prioritised fix list Five fixes per lens, ordered by impact "Fix what those engines read when they do not" cite you — detail not described
Listings management × Not offered — we point you at where your listings already live Core product
Review management A reviews quick-win in the report; platform setup in an engagement Core product
Trend over time × One-time snapshot; re-run when you want a new one Subscription platform
Many locations / many clients × One business per report Plans from 1 to 50+ locations
Free option Free headline check by email — one finding, no card Free trial on Solo through Scale
Pricing $25 one-time per report Solo $49/mo, Premium $299/mo, Pro $499/mo, Scale $899/mo, Enterprise custom; 20% off annual

Synup's features and pricing as published on their own site, checked 2026-09-04. Their product changes without telling us — verify anything you are deciding on.

What the numbers say

Across the 212 businesses AEOCheck has scanned so far, 192 — 91% — failed their AI visibility check. Most had the same three problems: AI crawlers blocked, no structured data, and no content for engines to cite. None of those are fixed by automating a Google Business Profile.

That number is read live from our own scan corpus when this page loads, counting the most recent scan per business — not a figure typed in once and left.

Choose Synup if

Synup is the better purchase when:

At $49 a month for a single location, with AEO scoring included, Synup is one of the more reasonably priced ways to get ongoing AI measurement bundled with the local-marketing basics.

Choose AEOCheck if

The $25 report is the better purchase when:

The question to ask first

Before choosing either, ask one question: when someone in your city asks ChatGPT or Perplexity who to hire for what you do, does your business get named? A subscription is worth more once you know what it needs to move.

Run the free AEOCheck headline check and find out in minutes. No payment required.

Run my free check →

FAQ

Does Synup measure AI visibility?

Yes. Synup's pricing page describes an AEO feature scored per engine across ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, showing whether your locations get cited and helping you fix what those engines read when they do not. It is listed as included in their plans. We read this on 2026-09-04; the prompt method and Google AI Overviews coverage are not described on that page.

How much does Synup cost?

From their pricing page on 2026-09-04: Solo $49 per month for one location, Premium $299 per month for up to 10 locations, Pro $499 per month for up to 25, Scale $899 per month for up to 50, and Enterprise on custom pricing for more. Annual billing takes 20% off, and Solo through Scale offer a free trial.

Synup vs AEOCheck: which should a single-location business buy?

If you will use listings and review management every month, Synup's Solo plan at $49 gets you those plus an AEO score. If your question is simply whether AI recommends you for the searches your customers type in your city, who it recommends instead, and what to fix, the $25 AEOCheck report answers that once, without a subscription.

Does Synup cover Google AI Overviews?

Their pricing page names ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity for AEO scoring. Google AI Overviews and AI Mode are not named there, so we mark them unknown rather than absent. AEOCheck measures Google organic directly and the three AI engines named; AI Overviews are not scored as a separate lens.

Can I use both AEOCheck and Synup?

Yes. The AEOCheck report finds the technical and content problems that keep AI engines from naming you for buyer searches — crawler access, schema, quotable content — and Synup keeps listings and reviews consistent and tracks an ongoing score. The two overlap on measurement and differ on almost everything else.

Is the AEOCheck check free?

The headline check is free: we run the same buyer searches and email you the single most important finding, no card. The full report is $25 and delivers to your inbox, usually within the hour.

Where this came from

More comparisons

All comparisons · Tool reviews and roundups · How we review

See what AI says about your business — $25 full report →