AEOCheck
Comparison

AEOCheck vs. BrightLocal

A monitoring subscription for someone already doing local SEO, or a one-off diagnosis for someone who isn't. Different jobs — here is how to tell which one you have.

One-time AI visibility report, $25

AEOCheck

  • Runs eight real buyer-intent searches for your trade and city across ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini and Google organic
  • Tells you whether you were named, who was named instead, and where you rank
  • Five prioritised fixes per lens, an on-page audit, and copy-paste starter files
  • No subscription. Done-for-you work is a separate, scoped engagement if you want it
Local SEO platform with Local AI Visibility built in

BrightLocal

  • Local AI Visibility: visibility score, mention rate, share of voice and average position across ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode, per prompt
  • Rank tracking, geo-grids, citation building, GBP tools and review management
  • AI Insights: prioritised local SEO actions, included on every plan
  • From $39/month, priced by active location. 14-day free trial, no credit card

Disclosure: AEOCheck sells a competing product. We write these pages under a published method, we say what the other tool does better than us, and every claim about them is read from their own material and dated.

The honest difference

Start with the fact this page used to get wrong. BrightLocal has shipped AI visibility measurement — their Local AI Visibility feature — and it is included at no extra cost on all three plans (Track, Manage and Grow) for every active location. It shows how a business comes up when people ask ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode for a recommendation, broken down by platform, prompt type and individual prompt, with a competitor comparison and a trend chart from your second check onward. That is a real product from a company that has been doing local SEO software for a long time, and pretending otherwise would make everything else on this page worthless.

So the honest question is not whether BrightLocal measures AI visibility. It is what kind of purchase each of these is.

BrightLocal is a monitoring subscription. You set up a location, it re-checks on a schedule, the chart moves, and someone — you, your marketing person, your agency — reads the chart and decides what to do about it. Everything about it assumes there is an ongoing local SEO effort for the numbers to feed. If you are already doing that work, a dashboard that adds AI answers alongside rankings, citations and reviews for the same subscription is a genuinely good deal, and a 14-day trial with no card is the right way to find out whether you will actually open it.

AEOCheck is a diagnosis. You pay once, we run the actual buyer searches for your trade and your town — "who is the best roofer in Phoenix", not "tell me about Smith Roofing" — across ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini and Google organic, and you get a report that says where you stand, why, the names of who gets recommended instead of you, and five specific fixes in order of impact. A dashboard tells you your score every week. A diagnosis tells you what to do on Tuesday.

Two other differences matter for a small business. First, engine coverage: BrightLocal's help centre names ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode; Perplexity and Gemini are not named there, and we mark them unknown rather than absent. AEOCheck measures Perplexity and Gemini directly. Second, what happens after the number: the AEOCheck report ends with the fixes and, if you want them done for you, a separately scoped engagement with a 90-day re-measurement. BrightLocal's equivalent is its AI Insights list plus a Managed SEO service at $1,299 per month.

If you run local SEO as an ongoing discipline, choose BrightLocal and use the trial. If you have never done any of this, do not want a subscription, and mainly want to know whether AI is sending your customers to someone else and what to change, that is the $25 report.

What each one measures

AEOCheck BrightLocal
AI answer engines measured ChatGPT/OpenAI, Perplexity, Google Gemini — plus Google organic ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode per their help centre; Perplexity and Gemini not named
Local buyer-intent prompts ("best plumber in Tulsa") Eight per report, keyed to your trade and city Per-prompt breakdown by prompt type, per location
Names who gets recommended instead of you In every report Competitor comparison of visibility, mentions and share of voice
Trend over time × One-time snapshot; re-run when you want a new one Trend chart from your second check onward
AI crawler access check (GPTBot, OAI-SearchBot, ClaudeBot, PerplexityBot) Fetched and reported in the on-page audit ? Not stated in their Local AI Visibility material
Schema / structured data Audited in the report; a FAQPage starter is included; implemented in an engagement ? Not stated on their pricing page
Prioritised fix list Five fixes per lens, ordered by impact AI Insights — prioritised local SEO actions, all plans
Google organic ranking Per buyer query, with who ranks above you Rank tracking and geo-grids
Google Business Profile Reviewed in the report; optimisation is an engagement add-on GBP audits and post scheduling
Citation building × Not offered — we point you at where your reviews and listings already live Citation Builder, pay-as-you-go from $2 per citation
Review management A reviews quick-win in the report; platform setup in an engagement Monitoring, response and collection campaigns
Many locations / many clients × One business per report Priced per active location; agency reporting
Done-for-you work Separately scoped engagement, with a 90-day re-measurement Managed SEO Services, $1,299 per month
Free option Free headline check by email — one finding, no card 14-day trial of the full platform, no credit card
Pricing $25 one-time per report From $39 per month per their help centre, by active location; exact tier price shown on their pricing page

BrightLocal's features and pricing as published on their own site, checked 2026-09-04. Their product changes without telling us — verify anything you are deciding on. Plan prices: BrightLocal's pricing page quotes plan prices by active-location count in the page itself rather than in the HTML we can read, so the only price we print is the 'from $39 per month' their help centre states. Check the exact tier price on their page before you decide.

What the numbers say

Across the 212 businesses AEOCheck has scanned so far, 192 — 91% — failed their AI visibility check. Most had the same three problems: AI crawlers blocked, no structured data, and no content for engines to cite. None of those are fixed by automating a Google Business Profile.

That number is read live from our own scan corpus when this page loads, counting the most recent scan per business — not a figure typed in once and left.

Choose BrightLocal if

BrightLocal is the better purchase when at least one of these is true:

Their help centre puts the entry price at $39 per month, priced by active location; the exact tier prices are on their pricing page. If you would use the rest of the platform, the AI feature is effectively free.

Choose AEOCheck if

The $25 report is the better purchase when:

The question to ask first

Before choosing either, ask one question: when someone in your city asks ChatGPT or Perplexity who to hire for what you do, does your business get named? If you do not know, that is the thing to find out first — a subscription and a diagnosis are both wasted on a problem you have not confirmed.

Run the free AEOCheck headline check and find out in minutes. No payment required.

Run my free check →

FAQ

Does BrightLocal track AI visibility?

Yes. BrightLocal's Local AI Visibility feature shows how a business appears when people ask ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode for a recommendation, with a visibility score, mention rate, share of voice and average position per platform and per prompt. Their help centre says it is included at no additional cost on the Track, Manage and Grow plans for active locations. We checked this on 2026-09-04.

How much does BrightLocal cost?

BrightLocal's help centre says prices start from $39 per month, with three plans (Track, Manage, Grow) priced by the number of active locations. The pricing page shows the exact figure for your location count. There is a 14-day free trial with no credit card, Citation Builder is pay-as-you-go from $2 per citation, and Managed SEO Services are listed at $1,299 per month.

Is BrightLocal worth it for a single-location business?

If you will actually use the platform every month — check rankings, run citation work, respond to reviews — yes, and the AI visibility feature comes with it. If you would open it once, look at the AI score, and not know what to do next, a subscription is the wrong shape for your problem and a one-time diagnosis with a fix list is the better spend.

BrightLocal vs AEOCheck: which one should I buy?

Buy BrightLocal if you run local SEO on an ongoing basis and want AI answers tracked alongside everything else. Buy the AEOCheck report if you want to know, once, whether AI recommends you for real buyer searches in your city, who it recommends instead, and exactly what to fix. Many businesses sensibly do the $25 report first and decide about a subscription afterwards.

Does BrightLocal cover Perplexity and Gemini?

Their help centre's description of Local AI Visibility names ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. Perplexity and Gemini are not named there, so we mark them unknown rather than absent — ask BrightLocal directly if either matters to you. AEOCheck measures Perplexity and Google Gemini in every report.

Can I use both AEOCheck and BrightLocal?

Yes, and it is a reasonable combination: the AEOCheck report finds and prioritises the underlying problems — crawler access, schema, whether there is anything on your site an engine can quote — and BrightLocal tracks the effect over time once they are fixed. Nothing in either product conflicts with the other.

Where this came from

More comparisons

All comparisons · Tool reviews and roundups · How we review

See what AI says about your business — $25 full report →